I'm looking
for help...
Aidpage is free!

Free downloads: GrantGate®  Federal Money Retriever®

Community Access Program

Published on AidPage by IDILOGIC on Jun 24, 2005

Who is eligible to apply...

Applications may be submitted by entities, including tribal, faith-based and community-based organizations, that represent a consortium whose principal purpose is to provide a broad range of coordinated health care services to their defined community's uninsured and underinsured populations. For an entity to be eligible to receive a new HCAP award, the following requirements must be met: 1. The applicant entity must represent a consortium whose principal purpose is to provide a broad range of coordinated health care services to their defined community's uninsured and underinsured populations. 2. The community-wide consortium represented by the applicant entity must include at least one of each of the following providers that serve the stated community, unless such provider does not exist, declines or refuses to participate, or places unreasonable conditions on its participation: ? A Federally qualified health center (as defined in section 1861(aa) of the Social Security Act (42 U.S.C. 1395x(aa))); ? A hospital with a low-income utilization rate (as defined in section 1923(b)(3) of the Social Security Act (42 U.S.C. 1396r-4(b)(3)), that is greater than 25 percent; ? A public health department; and ? An interested public or private sector health care provider or an organization that has traditionally served the medically uninsured and underserved. In addition to the required consortium members listed above, the community-wide consortium should seek partners from all levels of care who provide a range of services (e.g., preventive and primary care, specialty medical care, mental health and substance abuse services, oral health, HIV/AIDS care, social services, transportation, health education, etc.), as appropriate for the needs of the community's uninsured and underinsured populations. 3. The applicant entity is neither a current HCAP grantee nor former HCAP or Community Access Program (CAP) grantee and is proposing to serve a service area or target population of uninsured and underinsured individuals that has never been served by a CAP or HCAP grant 4. The entity must submit an application in the form and manner prescribed in the application guidance.

Eligible Applicant Categories:
Eligible Functional Categories:

Preapplication Coordination is not required. This program is eligible for coverage under E.O. 12372, "Intergovernmental Review of Federal Programs." An applicant should consult the office or official designated as the single point of contact in his or her State for more information on the process the State requires to be followed in applying for assistance, if the State has selected the program for review. Informal inquiries regarding the program and intent to submit an application should be directed to the Director, Division of Health Center Development (DHCD) Bureau of Primary Health Care for Health Resources and Services Administration.

Note:This is a brief description of the credentials or documentation required prior to, or along with, an application for assistance.

About this section:

This section indicates who can apply to the Federal government for assistance and the criteria the potential applicant must satisfy. For example, individuals may be eligible for research grants, and the criteria to be satisfied may be that they have a professional or scientific degree, 3 years of research experience, and be a citizen of the United States. Universities, medical schools, hospitals, or State and local governments may also be eligible. Where State governments are eligible, the type of State agency will be indicated (State welfare agency or State agency on aging) and the criteria that they must satisfy.

Certain federal programs (e.g., the Pell Grant program which provides grants to students) involve intermediate levels of application processing, i.e., applications are transmitted through colleges or universities that are neither the direct applicant nor the ultimate beneficiary. For these programs, the criteria that the intermediaries must satisfy are also indicated, along with intermediaries who are not eligible.